About the University

The University of Naples Parthenope was established in 1919, when – at the request of Vice Admiral Leonardi Cattolica, founder of the University – an institute of higher education, the “Regio Istituto Superiore Navale” (Royal Higher Maritime Institute), was set up with the aim of studying the oceans and the seas, not only from the point of view of marine physics and biology but also as systems of transport, trade and cultural exchange.

The Institute was therefore meant to tackle, assess and evaluate economic issues related to the sea by pursuing scientific development. In 1999, the two long-standing Faculties of Economics and Nautical Science (later called Science and Technology) were reorganized and extended with three newly established faculties, i.e., Law, Engineering and Sports Sciences, which jointly brought the Institute significant growth in the number of students – from approximately 1,000 in 1985 to approximately 16,000 to date. The Institute thus officially had its denomination changed to “University of Naples Parthenope”.


From July 2013, a new set of graduation curricula was introduced, and a department-based organization was introduced to further develop both research and teaching activities. Among the University’s core missions are the promotion, development, direct application, enhancement and use of knowledge to contribute to the social, cultural and economic development of society. In the one hundred years since its foundation, the most profound and characterizing trait of this University has remained unchanged as its most authentically traditional feature: the ability to interact with the social context and to continuously engage with evolving demands.



The Statute defines the central governing, statutory, and regulatory bodies of the University. The Rector is the legal representative of the University.


Rector Prof. Antonio Garofalo
Full Professor in Political Economy

Mr. Mauro Rocco
The Managing Director is the chief executive officer of the
university (

The Academic Senate is a collective body in charge of planning, coordinating, and monitoring the University’s teaching and research activities, as well as defining its policies and strategies.

The Board of Directors is in charge of leading and monitoring activities related to the
administrative, financial and economic management of the university.

The Audit Committee is responsible for monitoring the university’s financial and accounting management. The tasks and modes of operation of the Audit Committee are coded by administrative, financial and accounting regulations.

The Assessment Committee is responsible for internal quality assessment of the university administration, teaching and research activities and students’ benefits (such as scholarships) and services.

The “Comitato Unico di Garanzia” (CUG) is a committee (a new body established according to art. 21 of Law 183, 4 November 2010) for equal opportunities. The CUG protects employees’ rights. It is a guarantee body that operates against any form of direct or indirect discrimination related to the risk factors mentioned in the EU regulations: gender, age, sexual orientation, ethnic origin, disability and language. It covers many areas, including access to treatment and working conditions, training, career progression and safety.